In 1639, Barnstable was established by the Plymouth Plantation Colony as the third town on Cape Cod.
Over time, Barns
table was divided into seven distinct villages: Barnstable, Centerville, Cotuit, Hyannis,
Marstons Mills, Osterville, and West Barnstable. Each of these
communities grew and developed their own
libraries, schools, churches, and general stores. Local industry
was abundant, and residents were employed
as blacksmiths, cobblers, copper smiths, and farmers. Saltworks, cranberry bogs, shipbuilding, and light
industry all supported the area
. .Barnstable was settled shortly after Sandwich and incorporated in 1639. The largest town on Cape Cod,it contains seven villages. Two, West Barnstable andBarnstable, fall within the Old King's Highway Regional Historic District. Barnstable Village was once the fourth largest seaport in Massachuetts, and has been the county seat since 1685. Along route 6A, from the Sandwich line to the Yarmouth border,are over a hundred historic sites and buildings which date to the beginnings of the town. 
antiqBrewster Grist mill
usiness in Brewster. in 1837 there were 60 salt works on the beaches. Small windmills pumped water into a succession of large vats.

�2014 Bythebay Shows
eXTReMe Tracker